The NJSO performs Spanish- and French-inspired showpieces alongside an electrifying US premiere from one of China’s foremost composers, Qigang Chen, with returning violinist Ning Feng.

XIAN ZHANG conductor

NING FENG violin

RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Capriccio espagnol

Inspired by Spanish dance, Russia’s Rimsky-Korsakov turns a brilliant solo spotlight on members of the orchestra.

QIGANG CHEN La joie de la souffrance for Violin and Orchestra (US Premiere and NJSO Co-Commission)

“The Joy of Suffering” explores the composer’s view that joy and suffering are “a matter of ‘Yin’ and ‘Yang,’ inseparable and hence all things should contain both. Like loss and gain, they are bound to balance out.”

SAINT-SAËNS Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso

A soulful start prepares the listener for a heartbreaking piece—then fireworks erupt. The soloist’s left hand blurs on the fingerboard, and the bowings require an elite athlete’s stamina and grace. Only the best violinists like Feng can make this piece sing.

FALLA Suite No. 2 from The Three-Cornered Hat

From the ballet stage comes this lighthearted Spanish tale filled with the rhythm and seduction of the dancing it is meant to accompany.