National Symphony Orchestra of Cuba
Bank of America Classical Series Classical

National Symphony Orchestra of Cuba

The National Symphony Orchestra of Cuba, conducted by Enrique Pérez-Mesa with guest pianist Yekwon Sunwoo, makes its NJPAC debut with a program that includes the 1812 Overture and Beethoven’s Seventh.

Gold medalist of the 2017 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, 28-year-old pianist Yekwon Sunwoo has been hailed for “his total command over the instrument and its expressiveness” (San Francisco Examiner). This powerful and virtuosic artist will perform Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A minor.

This concert offers a listen to Cuba’s 20th century masters, only now being discovered: De Falla’s sizzling The Three-Cornered Hat, plus Amadeo Roldán’s mesmerizing Three Poems. Also on the program are the timeless 1812 Overture – Tchaikovsky’s patriotic tribute to his motherland, which concludes in a splashy fanfare of chimes and cannons – and Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, whose second movement is considered to be one of the most beautiful pieces of music ever written.

For the full program, click to Program Notes above.

Join us for the Bank of America Classical Overtures, held an hour prior to each classical concert. These interactive presentations are hosted by Maestro George Marriner Maull of New Jersey’s Discovery Orchestra and are free to ticket holders.



NICO Kitchen + Bar will be open for this performance, make reservations by clicking the button below.




Tier 3 Café will be open for this performance.
Click here for more information about this new, buffet-style dining option at NJPAC.  Call Tier 3 Cafe (973) 297-5124 for available dates and reservations.

Click here to purchase advance parking to this performance.

Tchaikovsky: 1812 Overture

Roldán: Three Poems

Grieg: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16

De Falla: Suite 1 from The Three-Cornered Hat

Beethoven: Symphony No. 7