Valery Gergiev, conductor
Mao Fujita, piano

Debussy: Prelude to The Afternoon of a Faun
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No 2

One of music’s most potent partnerships. The sound of Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra roars throughout Prudential Hall. For this appearance they bring the lush power of Rachmaninoff to the stage, performing his Second Symphony, while 22-year-old Mao Fujita presents the Third Piano Concerto. It all begins with the impressionism of Debussy—his Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun.

Join us for the Classical Overtures, held an hour prior to each classical concert. These interactive presentations are hosted by Maestro George Marriner Maull of New Jersey’s Discovery Orchestra and are free to ticket holders.