The legacy of jazz pioneer Max Roach is explored by the next generation of breakout percussionists: the Tyshawn Sorey Trio (MacArthur Fellow, Pulitzer Prize winner, composer and multi-instrumentalist Tyshawn Sorey; pianist Aaron Diehl and bassist Harish Raghavan) and GRAMMY®-nominated chamber quartet Sandbox Percussion (Ian Rosenbaum, Jonny Allen, Terry Sweeney and Victor Caccese).

The two groups will perform their own sets highlighting Roach’s impact across musical worlds. Then, they’ll join forces for the East Coast premiere of a through-composed multi-movement piece paying tribute to Roach’s groundbreaking M’Boom ensemble. Partial support for the development of this work provided by NJPAC with the approval of the Max Roach estate.